Measures for de-offshorization in Ukraine

The fight against offshores intensified around the world after the 2008 financial crisis. The main focus was on combating tax evasion, exchange of tax and financial information, transparency and the disclosure of beneficiaries.

According to Yaroslav Romanchuk, managing partner of International Legal CenterEUCON, the major initiatives on de-offshorization at international community level are measures for information exchange — Convention on Mutual Administrative Assistance in Tax Matters and BEPS (Base Erosion and Profit Shifting), which many experts called the most fundamental changes in international tax rules. This plan was approved by G20 in the autumn of 2015, with 4 points of the plan (out of a total of 15) dedicated to transfer pricing. To date 103 states, including Ukraine, have joined the Convention. However, exchange mechanisms provide for the existence of bilateral or multilateral agreements. At the moment, a multilateral agreement on automatic exchange between competent authorities has been developed and according to the latest information it has been signed by 83 jurisdictions. Ukraine is only planning to sign it.

It’s difficult not to mention showy tax proceedings — including those involving large corporations (Apple in Ireland) and the Panama securities scandal, which are intended to force multinational companies to pay taxes.

Ukraine is not member of OECD and is not part of the G20 group. However, our country simply will not be allowed to stay away from these processes, which are gathering speed.

Measures for de-offshorization currently in place:

#1. Tax legislation in the field of TP has been in force since 1 September 2013.

— Transactions considered as controlled are those with non-resident related parties, non-residents from the list of low-tax jurisdictions, approved by the Cabinet of Ministers, sale of goods through non-resident commission agents.

#2. Restrictions on transactions with offshore companies came into force (Clause140.5.4 of the Tax Code of Ukraine, according to which financial result of the reporting period is to be increased by 30% of the value of such goods, works, services purchased from non-residents); in other words only 70% of the cost is allocated to expenses.

There are precedents for additional charges under this article. According to the last paragraph of this article, such adjustment may be waived if the taxpayer justified the transaction price by rules of transfer pricing, i.e. in documentation.

#3. Clause 140.2 of the Tax Code of Ukraine came into force (rule of “thin capitalization”).

At the moment this rule usually implies that the payer, whose sum of debt liabilities to non-resident related parties exceeds the amount of its own capital by more than 3.5 times (for financial institutions and companies engaged exclusively in leasing activities — more than 10 times), increases its financial result subject to the tax on accrued percentage in accounting records in excess of more than 50% of sum of financial result before taxation, of financial expenses and depreciation allocations.

#4. Regulations on procedure of analysis and verification of documents (information) on financial transactions and their participants by banks, approved by Decree No. 369 passed by the NBU Board of 15 August 2016, has come into force.

According to this document, a participant of a financial transaction, which is registered in the country, entered by the Cabinet of Ministers of Ukraine in the list of offshore zones/low-tax jurisdictions, shall undergo additional verification by the bank.

The bank may check the documents on the ownership structure, ultimate beneficial owners, content of activities of participants of a transaction, origin of funds, etc.

#5. Introduction to the Unified State Register of information about final beneficiary legal entities and final beneficiaries of their founders (the Act of Ukraine No.1701-VII of 14 October 2014)

Focus on de-offshorization is currently being declared by Ukrainian President Petro Poroshenko and the government. The goal to be attained is that of improving the investment climate and combating tax evasion. Through the following:

— Preparation of bills on de-offshorization of the Ukrainian economy;

— Joining multilateral agreement on the exchange of financial and tax information by Ukraine;

— Gradual revision of bilateral agreements of Ukraine on avoidance of double taxation in accordance with the ОECD’s principles;

— Improvement of legislation in the field of transfer pricing.

“Our current activities show that business is beginning to realize that changes are inevitable and that various tax optimization schemes will soon sink into oblivion. Today, there is great demand for removal of risks related to non-transparent structures and ILC EUCON experts have already helped many companies to introduce changes to their business model. I think that adjustments carried out in due time will help many to maintain a competitive advantage on the market in strict regulatory conditions,” said Mr. Romanchuk.

Source: The Ukrainian Journal of Business Law, October 2016

Partnership

Awards

Меры по деофшоризации в Украине

Как вы знаете, война с оффшорами в мире активизировалась  после финансового кризиса 2008 года. Был разработан ряд инициатив: и  отдельными государствами и международными  сообществами. Основной упор делался на   борьбу с уклонением от уплаты налогов, обмен налоговой и финансовой информацией, прозрачность, раскрытие бенефициаров.

Основными инициативами по деофшоризации на уровне мирового сообщества являются меры по обмену информацией (Конвенция о взаимной административной помощи по налоговым делам (Convention on Mutual Administrative Assistance in Tax Matters)   и BEPS — Base Erosion and Profit Shifting,  который  многие специалисты, называют наиболее фундаментальными изменениями  в международных налоговых правилах.  В 2015 году осенью этот план был одобрен странами  большой двадцатки. 4 пункта плана (из 15) посвящены трансфертному ценообразовании. К  Конвенции на текущий момент  присоединилось  103 государства, в т.ч. и Украина. Однако механизмы обмена предусматривают наличие двусторонних либо многосторонних соглашений. На данный момент разработано Многостороннее соглашение компетентных органов об автоматическом обмене, его подписало по последней информации 83 юрисдикции. Украина пока только планирует такое подписание.

Также  нельзя не упомянуть показательные налоговые разбирательства  — в т.ч. с крупными корпорациями (последнее с Аррle в Ирландии),  скандал с Панамскими бумагами, которые направлены на то,  чтобы заставить транснациональные компании платить налоги.

Безусловно,  Украина,  не является членом ОЭСР и не входит в группу G20. Однако остаться в стороне от этих, набирающих обороты, процессов нам просто не позволят.

Что работает в качестве мер по деофшоризации сегодня :

  1. С 01.09.2013 действует налоговое законодательство в сфере ТЦО

— контролируемыми считаются операции со связанными лицами нерезидентами, нерезидентами из Перечня низконалоговых юрисдикций, утвержденного КМУ, продажа товаров через комиссионеров-нерезидентов.

  1. Действует ограничение на операции с оффшорами (пп.140.5.4 НКУ, согласно которого финансовый результат отчетного периода увеличивается на 30% стоимости приобретенных у таких нерезидентов товаров, работ, услуг); другими словами на расходы относится только 70% стоимости.

Уже есть прецеденты доначислений по этой статье.

Кстати,  согласно последнему абзацу этой статьи такую корректировку можно не проводить если у плательщика налогов цена в операции обоснована по правилам трансфертного ценообразования, т.е. в документации.

  1. Работает пп.140.2 НКУ (правило «тонкой капитализации»).

Сейчас это правило предполагает, что плательщик, у которого сумма долговых обязательств перед связанными лицами-нерезидентами превышает сумму собственного капитала более чем в 3,5 случае (для финансовых учреждений и компаний, занимающихся исключительно лизинговой деятельностью — более чем в 10 раз), увеличивает финансовый результат к налогообложению на превышением начисленных в бухгалтерском учете процентов над 50 процентами показателя суммы финансового результата до налогообложения, финансовых расходов и амортизационных отчислений.

  1. Действует Положение о порядке осуществления банками анализа и проверки документов(информации) о финансовых операциях и их участниках, утвержденное 15.08.2016 г. Постановлением правления НБУ №369.

Согласно этого документа участник финансовой операции имеющий регистрацию в государстве, отнесенном Кабинетом Министров Украины в перечень офшорных зон/низконалоговых юрисдикций проходит дополнительную проверку банка.

Банк может проверять  документы по структуре собственности, конечных бенефициарных собственников, содержание деятельности сторон операции, источники происхождения средств и прочее.

  1. Внесение в единый государственный реестр информации о конечном выгодоприобретателе юридических лиц и конечных выгодоприобретателях его учредителя (Закон Украины от10.2014 №1701-VII.

Курс на  деофшоризацию декларируют сегодня Президент Украины и правительство.

Цель, которую планируется достичь  — улучшение инвестиционного климата и противодействие уклонению от уплаты налогов.

Для достижения запланировано:

— Подготовка законопроектов о деофшоризации украинской экономики;

-Присоединение Украины к многостороннему соглашению об обмене финансовой  и налоговой информацией;

-Постепенный пересмотр двусторонних соглашений Украины об избежании двойного налогообложения в соответствии с принципами ОЭС

—  Совершенствование законодательства в сфере трансфертного ценообразования .

Сегодняшняя наша работа показывает, что бизнес начинает осознавать неизбежность перемен  и то, что  всевозможные схемы налоговых оптимизаций вскоре канут в лету. Сегодня есть большой спрос на снятие рисков, связанных с  непрозрачными структурами и  специалисты EUCON уже многим компаниям помогли внести изменения в модель деятельности. Думаю, что  своевременно проведенные  корректировки помогут многим сохранить конкурентные преимущества  на рынке в условиях жесткого регулирования.

Источник: The Ukrainian Journal of Business Law,  октябрь 2016г.

Партнерство

Награды